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I. Introduction  

This instruction packet has been developed to help you with completing the immunization 

reporting survey. 

II. Ages Reported  

For all child care questions, include all current enrolled children:     

▪ 1 year of age   

▪ 18 months through 3 years of age  

▪ 4 years of age  

➢ Per the Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 432A.230, each child care facility is required to 

report to the Division of Public and Behavioral Health the exact number of children who 

have completed the immunizations required for enrollment by December 31st of each 

year.  

➢ Please include information on pre-school or pre-K students in the responses.  

➢ Please review and validate the online information prior to submitting your facility’s 

immunization information.  

➢ Please fill out all required sections.  Do not leave any sections blank.  

➢ You will not be able to complete the survey unless entry is made in all fields.  

➢ If your child care facility information is incorrect, you will be contacted by the 

Nevada State Immunization Program.  

➢ If you do not submit your immunization information by December 31st, you will be 

contacted by the Nevada State Immunization Program.   

  

III. Access to Immunize Nevada Website  

To access the annual immunization reporting survey online:  

➢ Go to https://www.immunizenevada.org/submit-rates  

➢ Click on the appropriate link.  

➢ Reports must be entered online by December 31st of the reporting year.    

➢ See the following instructions for child care facility immunization reporting 

submission.  

  

IV. Getting Started  

➢ Collect immunization records for all children:  

• 1 year of age   

• 18 months through 3 years of age  

• 4 years of age  

➢ Each child care facility will submit the total counts rather than immunization 

percentages.   

➢ Child care facilities with multiple campuses must submit each facility separately. For 

example, Sunshine Preschool will submit immunization information separately for the 

Happy Campus, the Smile Campus, and the Bright Campus.  

 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/NRS-432A.html#NRS432ASec230
https://www.immunizenevada.org/submit-rates
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➢ Go to https://www.immunizenevada.org/submit-rates  

  

➢ Click on the “Submit Immunization Rates for Child Care” link. 

 

➢ You will be redirected to a separate page.  

➢ Fill out all required sections for your facility.  Do not leave any sections blank.  

➢ You will not be able to complete the survey unless entry is made in all fields.  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

https://www.immunizenevada.org/submit-rates
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V. General Information   

➢ Enter in all general information for child care facilities.  

  

 

VI. Collecting Data   

➢ Please collect immunization records for children enrolled in your facility to complete 

the survey. (SEE APPENDIX B)  

➢ Please answer questions for only the following age required vaccines: DTaP, MMR and 

Varicella.  
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➢ Use the child care facility tally sheet and immunization resource to help in evaluating 

the immunization status of your establishment. (SEE APPENDIX D & E)  

➢ Do not submit tally sheet to the Nevada State Immunization Program.  

  

  

VII. Children Enrolled in a Child Care Facility (SEE APPENDIX C) 

➢ (Question 1, 1a, 1b, 1c) 

• Total enrollment: the total number of children in your facility.    

➢ (Question 2, 3, 4)  

• Total number up-to-date (UTD): the child has all required immunizations for 

their age. Do not count medical exemptions, religious exemptions, and 

conditional enrollment as UTD. 

➢ (Question 5)  

• Total number medically exempt: the parent/guardian has provided a Nevada 

Division of Public and Behavioral Health State Medical Immunization 

Exemption Certificate signed by a licensed physician (MD or DO) or an 

Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) stating that the medical condition 

of the student will not permit the student to be immunized.   

➢ (Question 5a, 5b, 5c) 

• Medical exemptions by vaccine: count the number of children who have medical 

exemptions for each of the vaccines listed on the survey.    

➢ (Question 6)  

• Total number religiously exempt: a Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral 

Health State Religious Immunization Exemption Certificate was provided by the 

parent/guardian who prohibits the immunization of the student due to religious 

beliefs. 

➢ (Question 6a, 6b, 6c)  

• Religious exemptions by vaccine: count the number of children who have 

religious exemptions for each of the vaccines listed on the survey.  

➢ (Question 7) 

• Total number conditionally enrolled: the child does not have required 

immunizations due to the minimum age requirements and/or dose intervals and 

is in the process of completing the series of shots.  
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APPENDIX A: VACCINE ABBREVIATIONS  

  

DTaP  Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Acellular Pertussis   

Hep A/HAV  Hepatitis A   

Hep B/HBV  Hepatitis B   

IPV  Inactivated Polio  

Hib  Haemophilus influenzae type b 

PCV13 Pneumococcal conjugate  

MMR  Measles, Mumps, and Rubella  

MMRV  Measles, Mumps, Rubella, and Varicella (Chickenpox)  

ROTA  Rotavirus   

VAR/CPOX  Varicella (Chickenpox)  
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APPENDIX B: SAMPLE IMMUNIZATION RECORD 
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APPENDIX C: CHILD CARE FACILITY QUESTIONS 
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APPENDIX D: CHILD CARE FACILITY TALLY SHEET 
Date:  
Note:  The Nevada State Immunization Program developed this tool to assist in evaluating the immunization status of your facility and completing the Nevada child care facility immunization reporting survey.                

            Do not submit to NSIP. 

Child 1 year old 18 months through 3 years old 4 years old UTD MedEx MedEx DTaP MedEx Varicella MedEx MMR RelEx RelEx DTaP RelEx Varicella RelEx MMR Conditional 

A 
             

B 
             

C 
             

D 
             

E 
             

F 
             

G 
             

H 
             

I 
             

J 
             

K 
             

L 
             

M 
             

N 
             

O 
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APPENDIX E: CHILD CARE FACILITY IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS 

RESOURCE 
  

            

Vaccine Type Birth  1 month     2 months 4 months 6 months 12 months 15 months    18 months 19 months 2 years 4 years 

Hep B º 1st dose 2nd dose   3rd dose       
DTaP    1st dose 2nd dose 3rd dose  4th dose    5th dose 
Hib*   1st dose 2nd dose 3rd dose 4th dose      

PCV13 ¥   1st dose 2nd dose 3rd dose 4th dose      
IPV    1st dose 2nd dose 3rd dose      4th dose 

MMR       1st dose     2nd dose 
Varicella       1st dose     2nd dose 
Hep A §      1st dose  2nd dose    

 

•     As of January 2018, it is necessary for children being admitted to a child care or accommodation facility in Nevada to receive all required vaccines at the 

youngest recommended age per the recommendation of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices 

(ACIP).  For example, the 5th dose of DTaP is recommended between 4 and 6 years of age.  The 5th dose of DTaP vaccine is required at 4 years of age if the child 

is attending a child care or accommodation facility in Nevada.  If a child turns an age that meets the youngest recommended age to receive the required 

vaccines (i.e. DTaP at 4 years old), after enrollment or child care entry, the child has 30 days to complete the required immunizations pursuant to Nevada 

Revised Statute (NRS) 432A.230 and NRS 432A.235.  

º     A child is considered up-to-date if Pediarix was administered at 2, 4, or 6 months of age. 
*     If a child receives immunizations late, fewer doses may be required.  Depending on the vaccine brand and the age of the child started, the child may receive a 

series of one to four doses of Hib. 
¥     If a child receives immunizations late, fewer doses may be required.  Depending on the age of the child started, the child may receive a series of one to four 

doses of PCV13. 
§     The first dose of Hep A vaccine should be given at 12 months of age.  The second dose should be given 6 months after the last dose. 

Exemptions 
Children may be exempt from immunization requirements for the following reasons: 

• Medical Exemption: Requires a Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health State Medical Immunization Exemption Certificate signed by a licensed physician 

(MD or DO) or an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) stating that the medical condition of the student will not permit the student to be immunized. 
• Religious Exemption: Requires a Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health State Religious Immunization Exemption Certificate signed by the parent or 

guardian who prohibits the immunization of the child due to religious beliefs. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/NRS-432A.html#NRS432ASec230
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/NRS-432A.html#NRS432ASec235
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Exclusion 
Per NRS 432A.230 and 432A.235, unless excused because of a religious belief or medical condition, a child must be up-to-date, or the child may not be admitted to 

any child care or accommodation facility within Nevada.   

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/NRS-432A.html#NRS432ASec230
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/NRS-432A.html#NRS432ASec235

